Let’s Start Again. 

So, it’s been a rough week. I’m struggling with my own inner demons; a sick baby, an angry pre-schooler… I just want to sit down, go to the toilet in peace and actually finish a cup of coffee whilst it’s still hot. 

Radio Silence from the government continues, and I don’t know what to read into it. Do they not care? Is there so little regard for Anangu that they’re prepared to let me shout my story from the rooftops and be confident that it won’t be heard? 

Let me be clear; my efforts are to try and enact some meaningful change in the APY lands. To restore some transperancy and some accountability. I’m not interested in headlines or media shit-storms; I just want to see some change. 

Today I heard that the government is cutting funding to the very services that were put in place to help combat problem sexualised behaviour in the lands in the first place. How can this be? How much longer can we continue to delude ourselves into believing that the frameworks put in place by the government are not working? And then, to go and cut funding?! I have my own opinions about the services in question but there is no doubt that they are well-intentioned and trying their best with a limited scope of practice in a highly challenging context. This cannot be. 

I also feel significantly wronged by DECD – the culture of bullying, the lack of disclosure about what its employees will face, and the inability to provide a safe work environment has gone on long enough. Make no mistake that I will persue this further. I’m prepared to make my story public if it will help prevent another family going through what we did. But for now, today; I’m sitting here crying into my lukewarm coffee because the gravity of what we’ve been through, and what is still to come is too much. But this is a conversation that needs to be had and a fight that needs to be fought. 

I’ll keep you posted. 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Start Again. 

Leave a Reply

